A collection of musings, articles and news about romance fiction.

RECOVERING FROM ARRC 2011!

Okay, I am officially gobsmacked! This was my first real experience with the Australian Romance Readers Association, and their convention (ARRC2011), and I’m impressed. Trust me, impressing me is hard to do.  It was so professionally run, with lots of goodies and prizes.  The ARRC was held at the Swiss Grand Resort and Spa, opposite our iconic Bondi Beach, and the staff were a pleasure to deal with. And the view! The view was fantastic. The beach wasn’t too bad either, but there are some really good-looking people at Bondi, let me tell you!

The whole experience got me thinking – and just like impressing me, that can be hard to do.  These conventions can be really difficult, especially for us shy folk. Meeting so many people was both exciting, and clear-the-room-I’m-going-to-throw-up-nerve-wracking, yet I knew I could go up to someone and say something insanely clever, like “What do you read?” and her (or his!) answer would be enough to start a riveting conversation (hence the rapid-fire discussion in the hotel room at 1:30am Sunday morning with women I met as they entered the door seemed like totally normal).

We all got to talk about what we looooooove to read – alpha heroes, beta heroes and any other Greek alphabet hero. We talked space opera, romantic suspense, veterans, ‘former’ Green Berets, vampires, Regency rakes and damsels in distress, but we didn’t really cover what we don’t like to read – and I know for some the response will be “I don’t know, but I’ll know it when I see it”.

What don’t you like to see in a romance? One convention-goer, Kat Mayo, said her deal-breaker is cheating between the protagonists. That’s a pretty good deal-breaker, in my book (no pun intended). Personally, I don’t like to see the hero treat any heroine with disrespect or contempt, by word or action – but that’s just me. Others subscribe to the ‘treat ‘em mean, keep ‘em keen’ philosophy. So, I’m interested:

What is your deal breaker in a book?

3 responses

  1. Hi Shannon! Wasn’t ARRC awesome!

    -and welcome to blogosphere 🙂

    What’s my deal breaker? I agree with Kat that infidelity is a real turn off, plus I also agree with you about disrespect. What else is a deal breaker? I guess if the heroine is too young and the heroine too old for her. Nothing I hate more than an 18 year old heroine and a 30 something hero. I find it just icky! (The exception being Regency Historical romance where that was the norm for the day).

    Maggie

    April 6, 2011 at 7:11 pm

  2. kittybucholtz

    LOL! Shannon, your blog is so funny! For me, no mean men, no dictators, no forced sex, no cheating on your loved one/partner/spouse, and I want both the man and the woman to have some kind of softer emotional core. I know what I want and I won’t read past chapter 3 if the book can’t deliver. 🙂

    April 6, 2011 at 7:38 pm

  3. Kat

    Name checked, and I only just discovered it! On deal breakers…I think mine have changed over the years. I’d have had a longer list when I was younger. Now I’m willing to read past a deal breaker if the writing is great and I trust the author to turn it around for me.

    Of course, I usually read the back of the book first, and that never hurts. 😀

    July 6, 2011 at 9:32 am

Leave a Reply

