A collection of musings, articles and news about romance fiction.

Watch Viper’s Kiss!

It’s just a little bit cool to be able to watch your book.

Okay, maybe not as cool as someone actually making a blockbuster movie out of your novel, but I’ll settle for the book trailer, for now!

I’ve discovered I’m a sucker for a book trailer – must be something to do with all those hours spent with gal pals  in darkened cinemas on Cheap Tuesdays, hungrily devouring the latest flick to make it to the silver screen. I’m an avid movie-watcher, so I guess it’s a natural progression to enjoy mini book movies!

So, what is a book trailer? Some would say it’s a savvy promotional tool used by authors and publishers to help sell a book – but I’m not so sure. I’ve never purchased a book as a result of viewing a book trailer. And sometimes I’m hopeless – I won’t remember the title or the author, but I will remember that it’s the one with the zombies, aliens and pirates, and that beautiful red dress. Book trailers are basically the book blurb in a visual format – like a movie trailer, but it’s advertising a book to read, not a movie to watch.

Some book trailers are wonderfully big budget – real actors, instead of your family, or the person walking past your letterbox at the wrong time. Music, special effects – there are some trailers that are just as enjoyable to watch as a full-length movie – only you never see the resolution in the trailer. Well, if you did, you wouldn’t bother getting the book, right? And then there are trailers that are cleverly done on a shoestring budget, displaying ingenuity in getting the concept of the book across to the viewer. And some, well some are just plain crap.

Personally, I just like to watch them. All of them.

And for all you time-suck victims out there, here is the trailer for my romantic suspense novel, Viper’s Kiss. Hope you enjoy!

 

Have you got favourite book trailer? Tell me about it!

2 responses

  1. After watching your book trailer, I think you’ve started me off on a delightful different way of assessing books I’d like to read. I’m sure most won’t be as compelling as yours.
    Look forward to reading the Viper’s Kiss. Wendy.

    November 10, 2011 at 10:39 am

  2. Thanks for that, Wendy!

    Don’t forget to let us know when you find a good trailer – I can spend way too much time watching them!

    Take care, and I hope you enjoy Viper’s Kiss!
    Toodles
    Shannon

    November 10, 2011 at 1:33 pm

Leave a Reply

