A collection of musings, articles and news about romance fiction.

Why a romance novel is like a good bottle of red wine…

I’m will freely admit, I’m biased when it comes to romance fiction.

Yes, gasp.

I read it. I write it. I adore it. I also notice that a few people (though thankfully, the numbers are dwindling at the same rate as ignorance) deride it. (WTF?!)

I view romance stories like a fine red wine – and enjoy reading one with a glass in my hand, if everything goes according to plan. But why red wine? You can find stories ranging from light and a little fruity, to dark, rich and full-bodied, and everything in between, and the variety is always like a wine tasting – most are good, but you’ll occasionally find one that you’ll delight in its discovery, and lose yourself as it embraces your senses, making the whole exercise more than worthwhile.

Zinfandel – can be light and fruity, or big and spicy, these are your stunning array of contemporary romances, from adventure and comedy, to dramatic women’s fiction.

Shannon’s Top Pick:

Wine: Tempus Two Zinfandel, 2006

Book: He Loves Lucy, Susan Donovan, St Martin’s Press, 2005

Shiraz – rich and spicy, with subtle dark berries, and a hint of pepper, these are your compelling sagas, your sophisticated family dramas.

Shannon’s Top Pick:

Wine: Four Sisters Shiraz, 2008

Book: The Shop on Blossom Street, Debbie Macomber, MIRA 2005

Pinot Noir – the hardest wine to do well. The best are hauntingly silky, with dark stone fruits balanced with sweet spices, just like your paranormal, supernatural and urban fantasy romances.

Shannon’s Top Pick:

Wine: Marlborough’s Oyster Bay Pinot Noir, 2009

Book: Slave to Sensation, Nalini Singh, Berkley, 2006

Merlot – usually higher in alcohol, will taste of black cherries, plums and sometimes mint and/or a subtle hint of cocoa. Historicals, furturistic,
and steampunk are all good dark richness and surprises.

Shannon’s Top Pick:

Wine:  Jameson’s Run
Limestone Coast Merlot, 2009

Book: Mistress, Amanda Quick, Bantam Books, 1995

Cabernet Sauvignon – with aromas of dark berries, dark cherries and blood plums, enhanced with blackberries and licorice.  Suspense, thrillers, gripping and edgy .

Shannon’s Top Pick:

Wine: Wolf Blass Yellow Label Cabernet Sauvignon, 2008

Book: Kill Me Twice, Roxanne St. Claire, Pocket Books, 2005

What are your favourite Wine/Book matches?

3 responses

  1. LOL! What an awesome fun post! I’m totally forwarding this!

    For me, hmm, even though it’s not red, I’d say my favorite is Brown Brothers Moscato because it’s sweet and fruity and I keep wanting to go back for more. That would be The Gift by Julie Garwood for me, the only book I’ve read more than twice besides the Bible. I think I’m up to about six times now!!

    October 7, 2011 at 8:08 am

  2. Thanks, Kitty!

    I love Julie Garwood! One of my favourites is Saving Grace, which I would pair with a Hanwood Estate Pinot Grigio 2009 – a light white with surprising depth and intense citrus aromas. And then there is Jude Deveraux’s The Heiress, which would go well with Catching Thieves Chardonnay 2008 – a crisp zing with melon characteristics and a weighty finish!
    Chilled, of course!

    October 7, 2011 at 9:34 am

    • LOL! You either know WAY MORE about wine than I do, or you are very good at pulling my leg! LOL! But I like those books, too! 🙂

      October 7, 2011 at 9:58 am

Leave a Reply

