A collection of musings, articles and news about romance fiction.

Whenever Never Comes

I’m completely normal. Seriously. Statistically, a whopping 75% will still be sticking to our New Year’s resolution by 14th Jan. Alas, by 1st June that number drops to 46%.  I’ve almost gotten to the stage of making a resolution with the expectation of breaking that resolution by March. At the latest.

Let’s take a look at my last year’s resolutions (cringe!):

Drop 4 dress sizes and be fit and fabulous.

–          Didn’t quite work out. As in, I didn’t quite work out.

Get two romantic suspense books written and published.

–          Actually, this one kind of worked. My first book, Viper’s Kiss, was released July 25, 2011, and my second book will be coming out May 2012 – but was accepted for publication within 2011.

Finish my middle grade fiction.

–          Did that. Have learned there is a big step between finishing a book, and getting it published – which leads me to the purpose of this post – S.M.A.R.T. GOALS.

I’ve actually presented on this very topic with my fabulous critique group, the Writer’s Coven, and kick myself that I haven’t used the same philosophy in my New Year’s Resolutions. Well, this year, I will.

A S.M.A.R.T. goal is:

Specific – no generalisations, be specific about what you want to achieve, when and how.

Measurable – when you’re specific, you can see whether you achieve your goal, or not.

Achievable – within your control. Your goal can’t rely on another’s actions to be achieved.

Realistic – within the bounds of reality. Don’t set yourself up for failure with an unrealistic goal.

Time-bound – put a limit on your goal, so that you can measure your success. No use saying you want to give up smoking, by whenever. Whenever never comes.

My S.M.A.R.T. writing goals for 2012:

Finish writing and submitting two more romantic suspense novels by Dec 31st 2012.

Complete and submit two novellas by Oct 31st 2012.

Plot out a trilogy, and start writing Book 1 by Nov 1st 2012.

My S.M.A.R.T. personal goals for 2012:

Create a personal timetable by Feb 20th 2012 to better organise the home life.

Lose 15kgs by July 1st 2012.

Read 3 fiction books that have nothing to do with my writing, purely for enjoyment, by Dec 31st 2012.

Have a date night each month with my husband.

What are your goals?

2 responses

  1. Hi Shannon – not a lot of differentiation between goals for me in 2012 here – my achievements are not comparable but the goals are and with strategies well under way as you’ve set out. So…
    I’m hoping to be fitter and slimmer by the Conference – maybe I’ll check in with you there. 🙂 Cheers.

    January 2, 2012 at 10:15 am

  2. That’s a great goal, and one that is very common for a lot of us! Good luck with your goal, and look forward to seeing how we’re both going at the Conference!

    January 4, 2012 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

