A collection of musings, articles and news about romance fiction.

Tuesday Tidbits with Danger Zone, by Dee J. Adams

Thanks so much for joining us, Dee J! Tell us about yourself… 

Thanks for letting me come play Shannon! I’m happy to be here. Today is the week and a day anniversary of my second release, Danger Zone, and I’m still just as excited as I was on the actual release day.

A little about myself… I moved from Texas to Los Angeles after high school and have worked in show business for over twenty years. I discovered writing about eleven years ago and never looked back. (Now instead of working on one part as I did as an actor, I get to decide what everyone in the book does. It’s very God like and I enjoy it immensely. LOL.)

What made you want to write THIS story?

After writing Dangerous Race, I actually wrote two other books before I thought about Danger Zone. The idea of Mac’s little brother Quinn kind of knocked around in my head, but I knew I needed someone strong to throw Quinn off his game. Ellie was just the girl. Since I work in show business the idea of making a movie really appealed to me too. Ellie’s very close to my heart for several reasons, but the most important is a learning disability we both share.

Tell us about your hero – why is he so special?

Quinn is the ultimate playboy. He’s gorgeous, smart and rich, but it takes a near death experience for him see that life is more than just hopping from one woman to the next looking for the next best thing. He has a heart of gold, but no one was able to tap into it before Ellie.

And your heroine; why is she so well-suited to your hero – or not?

Ellie is perfect for Quinn because she doesn’t care about his wealth. She knows money doesn’t make the person and it’s not what impresses her about him. She is the real deal and once Quinn realizes this, he’s in for the long haul.

What draws you to writing romantic suspense?

That’s simple… I love reading it. I love the adrenaline rush, the need to turn the page and see what’s next. I love when my palms sweat because of what’s happening when I’m reading a great romantic suspense. I love when my heart races just like the hero and heroine. If I can bring any one of those elements to a reader, then my job is done.

What books/characters did you like to read, growing up, and how have they inspired you in writing this story?

I remember reading every Kathleen Woodiwiss and Judith McNaught book I could get my hands on. And then rereading them at every opportunity. Those two women wrote some of the greatest love stories ever written and if I am able to tell a story a fraction as well, then I’m still doing okay.

What are you working on next?

Currently, I’m about half way through a potential fourth book in the Adrenaline Highs series. I don’t want to give too much away in case I decide to toss it. LOL.

Thank you!

If you’d like to contact Dee J. Adams, you can visit her here:

Website: http://www.deejadams.com/index.html

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dee-J-Adams-author/202188539815974

Twitter: https://twitter.com/#!/DeeJAdams

To purchase her book, try here:

Carina Press: http://ebooks.carinapress.com/FC7A1245-A013-4920-B197-DA10457A5AF7/10/134/en/ContentDetails.htm?ID=4B558BAE-B6B6-4071-AAE2-EF7EB146C014

 Thanks for visiting, Dee J, and good luck with DANGER ZONE!

14 responses

  1. Wow. That is one sexy cover, Dee! Love the colours. Gorgeous.

    Quinn sounds the sort of hero I just adore. Heart of gold types always make me a bit gooey. Think I may just have to check him out.

    Wishing you all the very best.

    February 28, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    • Hi Cathryn,

      Thank you! Yes, that cover is amazing! I adore it. My absolute favorite colors with a gorgeous couple on top…can’t beat it! I was thrilled with it. I think I cried when I first opened the doc and saw it. LOL. Then I emailed the designer and thanked her profusely! Quinn does have a heart gold. Ellie just had to pan for it. Haha. Thanks for dropping in!

      February 29, 2012 at 2:01 am

  2. Maggie Nash

    Wow – my list of books to read has just gotten a lot longer! I love the sound of your series Dee. I also really like the covers. Gotta love a good cover!
    I can see that moving from acting to writing would be a natural progression. Do you find that your acting skills help you to visualise your characters?

    February 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • Hi Maggie,

      Yes, I could talk about my covers all day. Love them! I think my acting skills have helped me in a few ways. Yes, I visualize the characters and the scenes very clearly, but what might be more important is I hear the scenes a certain way. I read every one of my books aloud to make sure the dialogue is natural. (That way I get to play all the parts. LOL. Which, coincidentally, I did play all the parts when I narrated the book for audible, so I know I delivered the book the way I want people to hear it.) But I do try to write natural dialogue and I think my background helps with that. I’ve had many people tell me my books read like movies. I love that because those are my favorite books to read. Thanks for stopping in!

      February 29, 2012 at 2:09 am

  3. Sounds like a great book, Dee, and the cover is definitely appealing. A hunky hero with a heart of gold – what more could a woman wish for 🙂

    February 28, 2012 at 11:25 pm

    • Hi Sandy,

      I agree! It doesn’t get much better than that. And the fun part is watching Ellie mine for the heart of gold at the end of the rainbow. (Oh, you mean it’s supposed to be a POT of gold? Not HEART of gold? LOL.) Either way, it’s fun watching the playboy reform.

      February 29, 2012 at 2:12 am

  4. Oooops! My daughter had been using my computer to update details about our writers festival and I didn’t realise my comment was appearing under our writers club avatar. My apologies. The comment above (with the smiley face) was my personal one.

    February 28, 2012 at 11:29 pm

  5. No worries! Just glad you stopped by in any form. LOL. Where’s your writers festival? Anywhere near my neck of the woods on Los Angeles?

    February 29, 2012 at 2:14 am

  6. Hi Dee J!
    I hope you don’t toss that fourth book in the adrenaline high series. Looking forward to #3, and a fourth? Well, that would be icing on the cake.

    I enjoyed the blog.

    February 29, 2012 at 2:54 am

  7. Hi Lynne!

    LOL. I probably won’t toss it, but it’s too early to talk about it. It’s still in it’s infancy, although now I’m about 3/4 done. Making progress. Thanks for coming by and congratulations to you on the upcoming release of Courting His Favorite Nurse!

    February 29, 2012 at 2:59 am

  8. Hi Dee! I’m halfway through Danger Zone and loving it. Quinn and Ellie are leaping off the page for me, and I can’t wait to read what happens next. I hope you write many, many more books in this series!

    February 29, 2012 at 4:37 am

    • Hi Robin!

      Okay…so how much to do I love you? LOL. I’m so glad you’re enjoying Danger Zone. I love Ellie and Quinn together. They are favorites of mine, so I’m glad they resonate with you and hope you’ll like Dangerously Close as much when it comes out in July! Thanks for dropping in!

      February 29, 2012 at 4:53 am

  9. Loved the cover and the blurb. Sure I’ll love the book.

    March 3, 2012 at 2:13 am

    • Hi Elise,

      Thank you! I think the Cover Gods were looking on down on me and smiling! I love it too. Thanks for stopping by!

      March 3, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

